In listening to the On the media this week they brought up the phone again and to me it finally clicked at what they were trying to accomplish. The levels of concern need to be at an extreme high! Why are they trying to get into this particular phone? The meta data already suggests that their were no communications internationally from this phone. So why if that is the case is the government still trying to get into this phone and also why is apple standing their ground so strong when they have turned over phones in the past? Is apple trying to step outside of the box and become part of the people? Are they telling us that our privacy and security actually does matter and that we need to be more proud of that? Or are they simply telling the Government and NSA to get bent? They know that if the government wants into that phone they can find a way to do it, they are just looking for someone to be able to place the blame on in the future when this system gets hacked by someone who shouldn't have this much power. "This is about the future" very interesting comment made and then supported in the following comments by the two speakers. Patriot act 3 the revenge, if this is taken to court and they win and are now able to put a law on large companies that states you have to put this back door into all phones what is left with our privacy? If there is a code than it can be hacked by anyone and everyone who is willing to take the time and put forth the effort. I believe this could be a very dangerous decision if it is made and could lead to a lot of trouble. (Fred)
Closing Guantanamo? Why would we want to close Guantanamo and bring all the prisoners to the mainland? Still have on going pre trial hearings from September 11th incident. There would still be a virtual Guantanamo but they will bring them to military detention inside the US. No charges for these criminals that are being held captive but they have no chance of getting out of custody while we are still at war. They are war prisoners basically. Some men will be held for up to 35 years and never have even been charged. Well yeah you don't want to make a mistake and free someone who can bring forth another terrorist act but at the same time, what if you are holding innocent people captive for 35 years. Guantanamo North is what they are calling the name if they do end up closing down the site in Cuba. Interesting but what is the point? Are we trying to turn the page on this, slide the curtain? I am still unsure about the holding of all these people who we can't even put on trial because we have nothing on them. (Carol) MiamiHerald.com
It is counter productive because terrorists use Guantanamo as propaganda to recruit even more terrorists. (Insert from Obama)
Will closing Guantanamo change the recruitment... most likely not going to change much at all. Either way the prisoner will still be held captive whether north or south no difference to me.
Vigil anteee dude that was filming sounds like he had the most epic job ever! It would be so awesome to be with them but at the same time it would be so sketchy to be there with them. Went from shooting a film about health care to now shooting a mobile meth lab. What an awesome opportunity and how crazy would that be. He worked for 7 months to gain trust and then received the footage he was chasing for so long. AWESOME!!
i feel that we should keep Guantanamo bay, there is no reason to bring these violent criminal to the United States. I still can't believe we released the prisoners that we released from there awhile back. but i also agree with you on how the heck closing Guantanamo is going to be counter productive since supposedly these terrorist use it as propaganda. smh! it just doesn't make much sense.It would be pretty awesome to be selected to video all of this that is going on. I think i would take the chance, few people will ever get that oppurtunity
ReplyDelete