What? No way is that acceptable. Why would anyone think that ..(insert objective subject here).. is acceptable. This is how I thought as i walked into this class room in January. I was very quick to stick to my thoughts and decisions without hearing other sides of the stories. Why was i so quick to stick to my guns and go with my gut all the time? I don't know what made me be so one sided, or so biased in my decision making. One reason i think that i did respond the way I did the first few weeks of class was because it made me feel comfortable just going with what i had already had an opinion on. It was the easy way out or the easy road.
But my primary certitudes lead me to stick to what i had already learned i was nervous to leave my walls and try to see other peoples points of view. I am no means an expert now at seeing both sides of every story, but i have learned to open up and learn the facts about both sides more than i every did before. Some of my ideas have changed on some subjects and some have remained the same.
The thoughts and discussions in class that we had during the first month of class didn't really draw my attention. I was slow to react and actually enjoy them for what they were. I feel like the reason that changed was because i stepped outside of my own mental walls and was willing to accept other peoples thoughts for what they were. Opinions or facts it didn't matter to me, I found myself giving ear to both. Some were extremely far fetched ideas that my mind would instantly jump on and say, "yeah right" or, "this is absurd." At the first of the year my mind would have done just that and stayed right there saying they were crazy, but as the first month passed my mind opened up to the thoughts that were different and i didn't push them away at first contact. I believe this has helped me to increase what i have learned and my capability of learning.
As I have looked back at my OTM's and also my topic writings i have noticed the change in the depth I have reached and also the variety of the sides talked about. I began by writing on subjects from one stand point and never moved my feet to see the other side of the subject, but as the semester went on I noticed a change in the way I looked at everything in this class but not only in this class but I also began to change the way I look at everything I see in life.
Seeing and noting all of these different sides of peoples stories and their thoughts is actually what has led to me changing the way I think more than anything else so far in this semester or any semester that I have been in college.
So i have gone from What? No way is that acceptable, why would anyone think that ..(insert objective subject here).. is acceptable. To okay, where are you doing with this... Which by the way is the more productive way of thinking when it comes to learning and expanding ones knowledge.
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Facebook Ad
Creating an add for the Facebook!
97,000 people in the projected reach. Only chose three targeting words because i felt like that was enough to get my reach to what it is that i was looking for.
I chose this picture because it fits the add screen the best out of all of my other pictures that i was thinking about selecting.
Saturday, February 27, 2016
OTM- cell phone-Guantanamo north-Meth lab
In listening to the On the media this week they brought up the phone again and to me it finally clicked at what they were trying to accomplish. The levels of concern need to be at an extreme high! Why are they trying to get into this particular phone? The meta data already suggests that their were no communications internationally from this phone. So why if that is the case is the government still trying to get into this phone and also why is apple standing their ground so strong when they have turned over phones in the past? Is apple trying to step outside of the box and become part of the people? Are they telling us that our privacy and security actually does matter and that we need to be more proud of that? Or are they simply telling the Government and NSA to get bent? They know that if the government wants into that phone they can find a way to do it, they are just looking for someone to be able to place the blame on in the future when this system gets hacked by someone who shouldn't have this much power. "This is about the future" very interesting comment made and then supported in the following comments by the two speakers. Patriot act 3 the revenge, if this is taken to court and they win and are now able to put a law on large companies that states you have to put this back door into all phones what is left with our privacy? If there is a code than it can be hacked by anyone and everyone who is willing to take the time and put forth the effort. I believe this could be a very dangerous decision if it is made and could lead to a lot of trouble. (Fred)
Closing Guantanamo? Why would we want to close Guantanamo and bring all the prisoners to the mainland? Still have on going pre trial hearings from September 11th incident. There would still be a virtual Guantanamo but they will bring them to military detention inside the US. No charges for these criminals that are being held captive but they have no chance of getting out of custody while we are still at war. They are war prisoners basically. Some men will be held for up to 35 years and never have even been charged. Well yeah you don't want to make a mistake and free someone who can bring forth another terrorist act but at the same time, what if you are holding innocent people captive for 35 years. Guantanamo North is what they are calling the name if they do end up closing down the site in Cuba. Interesting but what is the point? Are we trying to turn the page on this, slide the curtain? I am still unsure about the holding of all these people who we can't even put on trial because we have nothing on them. (Carol) MiamiHerald.com
It is counter productive because terrorists use Guantanamo as propaganda to recruit even more terrorists. (Insert from Obama)
Will closing Guantanamo change the recruitment... most likely not going to change much at all. Either way the prisoner will still be held captive whether north or south no difference to me.
Vigil anteee dude that was filming sounds like he had the most epic job ever! It would be so awesome to be with them but at the same time it would be so sketchy to be there with them. Went from shooting a film about health care to now shooting a mobile meth lab. What an awesome opportunity and how crazy would that be. He worked for 7 months to gain trust and then received the footage he was chasing for so long. AWESOME!!
Closing Guantanamo? Why would we want to close Guantanamo and bring all the prisoners to the mainland? Still have on going pre trial hearings from September 11th incident. There would still be a virtual Guantanamo but they will bring them to military detention inside the US. No charges for these criminals that are being held captive but they have no chance of getting out of custody while we are still at war. They are war prisoners basically. Some men will be held for up to 35 years and never have even been charged. Well yeah you don't want to make a mistake and free someone who can bring forth another terrorist act but at the same time, what if you are holding innocent people captive for 35 years. Guantanamo North is what they are calling the name if they do end up closing down the site in Cuba. Interesting but what is the point? Are we trying to turn the page on this, slide the curtain? I am still unsure about the holding of all these people who we can't even put on trial because we have nothing on them. (Carol) MiamiHerald.com
It is counter productive because terrorists use Guantanamo as propaganda to recruit even more terrorists. (Insert from Obama)
Will closing Guantanamo change the recruitment... most likely not going to change much at all. Either way the prisoner will still be held captive whether north or south no difference to me.
Vigil anteee dude that was filming sounds like he had the most epic job ever! It would be so awesome to be with them but at the same time it would be so sketchy to be there with them. Went from shooting a film about health care to now shooting a mobile meth lab. What an awesome opportunity and how crazy would that be. He worked for 7 months to gain trust and then received the footage he was chasing for so long. AWESOME!!
Democracy 2.0
What is Democracy?
There
seems to be a lot of confusion about what the word Democracy means. In spite of the fact that at
least in some parts of the world one can hear it from the media every day.
Democracy by definition means the
government by people. That means that all the people should be able to have
their say in one way or another in everything that affects their lives.
Dictionaries usually say that this right can either be exercised directly (by
all members of a community having the possibility to enter personally, without
mediators, their position on a particular issue into the decision making
process - modern technology is able to provide this possibility for
increasingly larger and larger communities), or through representatives
(members of legislative bodies). This second arrangement is then called
Representative Democracy.
Representative
democracy would be fine if the representatives would really make alltheir decisions only after
consulting their constituencies. In the least, after having a clear idea about
the views of their constituents on a particular issue, and trying to
accommodate these views as best as possible (or postpone the decisions until an
overwhelming majority of the constituents would be happy with them).
Unfortunately,
a vast majority of countries that call themselves Representative Democracies
are not true democracies according to the above definition. Most of them are
actually just Elected Dictatorships. People can vote usually only once every
four or five years. They do not vote on any issues. They just elect their so
called representatives who then until the next elections have no obligations by
law and little incentives to base their decisions on individual issues on the
wishes on their electorate. They hardly ever bother to consult them on their
stands on various issues. Therefore, legislative bodies composed of such
"representatives" act in a very dictatorial manner between the
elections. The only country that is quite close to the definition of Democracy is Switzerland (more or less since 1291).
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OuY-DVsU4BY
What is democracy explained in a very simple manner.
In
response to the Pia Mancini video I am on board with the idea of
democracyos.org. I think that with todays generation if the option was allowed
to vote on their phones and not have to take 15 minutes out of their day to go
and vote they would do it. I see no reason why more people wouldn’t vote if
given the chance to take 5 minutes from the comfort of their own car,
classroom, bed room, ect. I also think that by finding candidates that actually
vote by the majority of the people then we the people will all have more desire
to be involved. How many times do you here someone in Utah say “oh my vote
doesn’t matter in Utah because…” every time there is an election that is what
you hear. But lets be honest most the people who don’t vote, they don’t vote
because they don’t want to take the 15-30 minutes to drive vote and drive home.
If we can make it possible through the internet I think we would see a huge
leap in amount of votes received each year.
On the other hand you have to put
yourself in the shoes of someone who has dedicated their whole life to this
trade and now you are telling them that no matter what they believe is best for
society they have to go by the majority vote… Majority vote will most likely be
a fair share of uninformed voters as well as those who are informed… I think
this has a lot of positives but can also be found to be fairly negative when
you get around to it.
I believe the best way to keep a leader in check is to make sure you are in a democracy where the citizens can and do vote on all issues. If you give one man/woman all the power you are basically throwing in your own white towel and submitting your fate into that persons hands. Is that really a wise decision? NOOO clearly that is a terrible idea.
Sunday, February 21, 2016
Religion 3.0
Religion
Talk about
an absolutely broad topic. In the US alone there are over 310 different
religions or denominations. Just 55 shy of being able to be part of a different
denomination or religious group every day of the year. (Stat found here) http://undergod.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000068
Lets be
honest though, the only time people ever want to bring up religion is when a
presidential candidate tells us what religion he or she is or when something
controversial is taking place in a religion and people have to suddenly make it
their business. First things first, if you aren’t part of the religion does it
matter what they are doing inside of their rules or guidelines for
members? No they don’t matter, yet often
times we find ourselves so concerned with what each religion is doing that we
involve ourselves just to feel involved. One that really jumps out to me
because we are from Utah was when the LDS Church came out with their standards
on marriage after not allowing gay marriage in their temples. The organization
that we all refer to as Mormons have never allowed gay marriage in their
temples, but people only became irate about it after gay marriage was passed in
a few of the states. Once again I say to all
of the people why do we begin to care what a certain religion says or
does if it doesn’t pertain to us? If you are a member of the church I am sure
they teach that marriage is or should be between a man and a woman no wavering.
I am just amused that people get so worked up over things that don’t change
anything about them.
On the other hand i see why so many people get worked up about this topic. Both sides of the story obviously exist and want to have their voice heard. I do not think that any religion should push their beliefs upon others to the extent where it becomes no longer a choice and they basically have to do these things just to get you off of their back. Religion should never push anyone to make personal decisions that they aren't ready to make.
On the other hand i see why so many people get worked up about this topic. Both sides of the story obviously exist and want to have their voice heard. I do not think that any religion should push their beliefs upon others to the extent where it becomes no longer a choice and they basically have to do these things just to get you off of their back. Religion should never push anyone to make personal decisions that they aren't ready to make.
One thing I
found very interesting as well were the amount of articles or journal entries
one could find that would try to disprove each religion. Rarely did you find
articles trying to portray the truth of each religion. Instead what you get
again were people who spent more time trying to prove each religion wrong
rather than finding out if any of them were or are true.
Does
religion effect schooling and or chances of being recruited or given a
scholarship? “Many religious organizations
are well-known for their active place in giving back to their community and
helping those in need. Religion is also a big part of many students’ lives — whether
they’re Christian, Catholic, Jewish, Muslim, or Buddhist. So, it’s no surprise
that many churches, religious groups, and colleges offer scholarships based on
religious affiliation or spirituality.” https://www.unigo.com/scholarships/by-type/religious-scholarships
I find it to be very interesting at the scholarships that some
religions are willing to award. I think it is a great thing of any religion,
business, or person for that matter to offer kids the chance to further their
education by helping them pay for it. To all of those religious groups I
applaud you for your efforts in helping students stay in school and achieve
great things.
In conclusion
on the topic of religion I just want to make it clear where I stand when it
comes to religions. I do not nor will I judge someone who is of another faith.
I will not un-friend someone because they do not believe the same things I do.
I will not harm someone because my beliefs are different from theirs. Yes I
agree that people do these kinds of things all the time and honestly it is sad.
Who are we to judge other human beings? Are you perfect?
Don’t judge me because I sin differently than
you.
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
On the Media Ebola again...?
Psychologically after hearing the
recent news about Zika, I have finally found out that it is actually happening.
Psychologically people are now going to be more concerned and start to worry
about every single mosquito bite. I am not a person who is a big worrier, but
people who worry about multiple things may be super concerned. I am going to
have to agree with the first man interviewed (Jonathon) when he said the
average American should not freak out about it, but we need to prepare for it.
Even if it doesn’t happen to you at least you were prepared.
Socially you don’t need to hide
from people who may have the virus, after all it is very unlikely that you will
be bit by a mosquito that bites the infected person and then sucks the virus
and then flies over to you and bites you is almost impossible. Malaria is one
of those cultural things as well when they discussed why nobody was overly
concerned with the number of mosquitos that exist they said it was because
malaria usually takes place where there isn’t power and in third world
countries. That is why people don’t usually make a big deal about it.
Once again I do not think that zika
is going to bother me at all. I don’t imagine I will have any run ins with it
and I am not going to go out of my way to do anything different than I normally
would do when I am anywhere that mosquitos are. I will still wear my repellant
and cover up but I am not going to be stressing every single bug bite. They
said it could affect 4 MILLION people… whoa scary… it is a big hype and I think
it is going to do the exact same thing Ebola did. We will probably make such a
big deal about it and at the same time the government will pass something
important under the rug and we will all go on living in fear of mosquitos. That
is just my take on it.
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Well informed 2.0 Privacy
What is Privacy?
Does privacy even exist in the world today? I find it hard to agree with someone who claims we have lots of privacy even when we are on the internet. I mean sure you can have your privacy out in nature when you hike into the mountains 50 miles away from the nearest town. But does that privacy exist online or in social media? i suggest that it does not exist but I will take a look at a few new ideas and try to figure out where i really stand on the subject of privacy.
I want to start out with this URL and i want you to click into it and look through the different scenarios that it brings up. Then i will choose a few scenarios and disect them with what i agree with and also disagree with.
http://www.pewinternet.org/interactives/privacy-scenarios/

Office surveillance cameras
The first one that appears on the list is this example of surveillance cameras in the office.
54 percent say this is acceptable while 24 percent of people say it is unacceptable and 21 percent say it depends. Now me personally I hate the category "IT DEPENDS" no shit it depends! If you aren't asking yourself what if about every question in life you are simply floating along. Quit being a floater and take control. So what i am going to do is every it depends vote will go half to acceptable and the other half to non acceptable. Office cams now sit at 65 say yes and 35 say no to the idea. What ideas do i agree with and disagree with from both sides. Well first of all on the yes to cameras being placed in the office i am going to side with this comment, (“[It is OK with me] as long it involves all departments and employees, not just a particular group.”) This one to me is a no brainer, and it is super simple to share. If you want to film one part of the business you should want to film everyone involved. No reason someone should have to go to work worrying about being filmed every second of the day and have others who aren't being filmed in the same building. EQUALITY
As for some arguments against the case, “Because some employers are very abusive of their power to check on you.” This could cause more drama then good when someone in power wants to pick on someone who is disliked they could---->“Because the company could save a lot of different feeds and then use them all at once to make a person look bad so they could just terminate them.” use all of the video compiled over a month to make a person look lazy and irresponsible and get them fired. We have to be very careful when it comes to who has the power and just how far we are going with the power.
Smart Thermostats
Smart thermostat The next topic that really drew my attention was that of the smart thermostat. When you ask someone where they feel the most security/privacy i think we could all agree that at home we feel the most secure and private. But this new thermostat is in a way taking that privacy from you and making your home a little less private. Imagine with me if you will waking up each morning and walking down into the kitchen but before entering the kitchen going over to the thermostat and bumping it up a few degrees. Now it doesn't take long to walk over and turn the heat on but now imagine your thermostat gaining information over the first weeks of installing it in your house. Now wake up walk down stairs and as you walk into the kitchen you notice that it is already at the desired temperature for your morning coffee or cereal. convienent or creepy? For me i find this to be more along the lines of creepy. What happens if this information gets into the wrong hands. They begin to notice all of your habits and they no longer have to worry about you mixing it up because you and your house have now told them exactly when you wake up, what rooms you go to and even how warm you want all of these rooms. It will even turn off all the heat and air conditioning while you are away at work. Wont that be so convienent and save you so much money?? Oh yeah but that info could also get into the wrong hands and that is basically a readers digest version of "hey we are gone from 8:30-4:30 everyday so come and take what ever you want. Are you still stoked about your house recording all of this info? I didn't think so. Here is what some of the commenters had to say on the subject,
“It would depend more precisely on the details of the company’s privacy statement. What can they use the collected information for? And do they share it with third parties? If they can use the information for anything but controlling my house’s HVAC [heating, ventilation and air conditioning], I would be very hesitant to participate.” Can you blame them? I agree 100 percent, no I do not want my house to be monitored clear down to every room and everything i do inside of my house. That is one place i hope to keep private. Why would anyone want their information shared with third parties? Hey everyone here is my house and all the information you need to break in and do it while we aren't home. In fact if you break in quick enough after we leave you will probably be in the warmth because my smart thermostat hasn't shut off just yet....Please people wake up!
Multiple people agreed to use the Thermostat only if they were being paid monthly for having it in their house holds. I think the main argument comes down to who are the third parties that will receive this data and what data will be passed along. “All of this stuff is way too invasive of my personal space! It’s like they all want to be in control of everyone at all times. Know what we are doing etc. No thank you.” This was one of my favorite quotes from the section just because it is finally someone standing up for themselves. Don't let someone else control what you do, just do you in the most private way possible... What ever that may be.
Does privacy even exist in the world today? I find it hard to agree with someone who claims we have lots of privacy even when we are on the internet. I mean sure you can have your privacy out in nature when you hike into the mountains 50 miles away from the nearest town. But does that privacy exist online or in social media? i suggest that it does not exist but I will take a look at a few new ideas and try to figure out where i really stand on the subject of privacy.
I want to start out with this URL and i want you to click into it and look through the different scenarios that it brings up. Then i will choose a few scenarios and disect them with what i agree with and also disagree with.
http://www.pewinternet.org/interactives/privacy-scenarios/
Office surveillance cameras
The first one that appears on the list is this example of surveillance cameras in the office.
54 percent say this is acceptable while 24 percent of people say it is unacceptable and 21 percent say it depends. Now me personally I hate the category "IT DEPENDS" no shit it depends! If you aren't asking yourself what if about every question in life you are simply floating along. Quit being a floater and take control. So what i am going to do is every it depends vote will go half to acceptable and the other half to non acceptable. Office cams now sit at 65 say yes and 35 say no to the idea. What ideas do i agree with and disagree with from both sides. Well first of all on the yes to cameras being placed in the office i am going to side with this comment, (“[It is OK with me] as long it involves all departments and employees, not just a particular group.”) This one to me is a no brainer, and it is super simple to share. If you want to film one part of the business you should want to film everyone involved. No reason someone should have to go to work worrying about being filmed every second of the day and have others who aren't being filmed in the same building. EQUALITY
As for some arguments against the case, “Because some employers are very abusive of their power to check on you.” This could cause more drama then good when someone in power wants to pick on someone who is disliked they could---->“Because the company could save a lot of different feeds and then use them all at once to make a person look bad so they could just terminate them.” use all of the video compiled over a month to make a person look lazy and irresponsible and get them fired. We have to be very careful when it comes to who has the power and just how far we are going with the power.
Smart thermostat The next topic that really drew my attention was that of the smart thermostat. When you ask someone where they feel the most security/privacy i think we could all agree that at home we feel the most secure and private. But this new thermostat is in a way taking that privacy from you and making your home a little less private. Imagine with me if you will waking up each morning and walking down into the kitchen but before entering the kitchen going over to the thermostat and bumping it up a few degrees. Now it doesn't take long to walk over and turn the heat on but now imagine your thermostat gaining information over the first weeks of installing it in your house. Now wake up walk down stairs and as you walk into the kitchen you notice that it is already at the desired temperature for your morning coffee or cereal. convienent or creepy? For me i find this to be more along the lines of creepy. What happens if this information gets into the wrong hands. They begin to notice all of your habits and they no longer have to worry about you mixing it up because you and your house have now told them exactly when you wake up, what rooms you go to and even how warm you want all of these rooms. It will even turn off all the heat and air conditioning while you are away at work. Wont that be so convienent and save you so much money?? Oh yeah but that info could also get into the wrong hands and that is basically a readers digest version of "hey we are gone from 8:30-4:30 everyday so come and take what ever you want. Are you still stoked about your house recording all of this info? I didn't think so. Here is what some of the commenters had to say on the subject,
“It would depend more precisely on the details of the company’s privacy statement. What can they use the collected information for? And do they share it with third parties? If they can use the information for anything but controlling my house’s HVAC [heating, ventilation and air conditioning], I would be very hesitant to participate.” Can you blame them? I agree 100 percent, no I do not want my house to be monitored clear down to every room and everything i do inside of my house. That is one place i hope to keep private. Why would anyone want their information shared with third parties? Hey everyone here is my house and all the information you need to break in and do it while we aren't home. In fact if you break in quick enough after we leave you will probably be in the warmth because my smart thermostat hasn't shut off just yet....Please people wake up!
Multiple people agreed to use the Thermostat only if they were being paid monthly for having it in their house holds. I think the main argument comes down to who are the third parties that will receive this data and what data will be passed along. “All of this stuff is way too invasive of my personal space! It’s like they all want to be in control of everyone at all times. Know what we are doing etc. No thank you.” This was one of my favorite quotes from the section just because it is finally someone standing up for themselves. Don't let someone else control what you do, just do you in the most private way possible... What ever that may be.
If you think you have privacy just go to google and enter your name into the search bar and hit go. Then you will be awakened to just how private your information actually isn't.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

